PDA

View Full Version : flintlock

charles starks
06-20-2008, 08:12 AM
well here is my first finished piece with my Lindsey classic .
sorry the photos are not real clear but Steve has been gracious enough to line me out on how to take better photos so in the future i will have this problem corrected .

I know there are faults and its not near the quality of you folks but things are comeing along nicely and the work will get better but so far im real happy with how this turned out .

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y242/captchee/gobblersrifle006.jpg

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y242/captchee/gobblersrifle003.jpg

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y242/captchee/gun%20stock%20artical/gobblersrifle010.jpg

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y242/captchee/gun%20stock%20artical/gobblersrifle005-1.jpg

mckeenh
06-20-2008, 08:29 AM
From what I can see the work looks very traditional. I studied the early american type of engraving for a while and I suppose the right term would be early Germanic because the early gunsmiths were mostly German, But by todays standards it doesn't even appear to be Germanic. Don't be ashamed of your work, it looks clean and very apprapo for the firearm. The gun looks good too. I can't wait to see better pictures.

Neil:yesnod:

jdveritas
06-20-2008, 11:32 AM
Nice work, like the man says its clean. I do love flint locks.

SVD
06-20-2008, 12:05 PM
Me too!
Nice, clean work that fits the piece. :thumbsup:

For some reason today I'm on a 'normal viewing distance' kick when it comes to evaluating engraving.

Step away from your scope, take off your visor, and look at it like you would if it were someone else's gun. Now how does it look? :)

charles starks
06-22-2008, 11:52 AM
thank you for the kind replies folks .
im surly enjoying the new classic graver

Roger Bleile
06-23-2008, 07:28 AM
Charles,