Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community

The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community
Discuss hand engraving using basic to the most advanced methods and equipment
Forum Members: 14,732. Welcome to our newest member, Miss Allison
EngravingForum.com - Domain since Feb 7, 2003

Graver Video Conferencing is empty Join now!

Go Back   Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community > Forums > Lindsay AirGraver Info - Hand Engraving Forum
ENGRAVING TOOLS - Paypal accepted Classes Glossary Feedback Tips Sharpening Bulino Videos Forum Policies

Old 07-28-2007, 10:06 PM
Gold

Default Tool Decission Dilema (Contest)

Hello everyone!! I am new to the engraving world and am having a hard time deciding what equipment to go with. Last spring I took a engraving class with "the competitors" just to see if I could actually do this before I invested a lump of money in equipment that I may not be able to use. I was surprised at how well I could cut, seeing as how I had never used a pnuematic tool before. The part I didn't like was the fact that you had to buy multiple pieces of equipment to "do it all", so I did not purchase any tools from them. I have been looking at Steve's handpieces and had decided that the Classic would be my choice- one handpiece with the capabilities to "do it all." Then Steve came out with the Artisian Handpiece! I guess what caught my attention is the price. I understand that it does not have the stroke adjustment on the handpiece so the stroke adjustment is done by air pressure from the compressor or changing pistons. Just how adjustable is this? Is this a tool that I will "outgrow" so to speak in a couple years and wish that I had gone with a Classic handpiece? Or a Palm control? I would be able to save up for an Artisian a bit sooner than the others and be able to start cutting now vs. saving for awhile and getting a Classic. Are these tools really as super