Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community

The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community
Discuss hand engraving using basic to the most advanced methods and equipment
Forum Members: 13,566. Welcome to our newest member, R M ENGRAVING
EngravingForum.com - Domain since Feb 7, 2003

Graver Video Conferencing is empty Join now!


Go Back   Engraving Forum.com - The Internet's Largest and Fastest Growing Engraving Community > Forums > Lindsay AirGraver Info - Hand Engraving Forum
ENGRAVING TOOLS - Paypal accepted Classes Glossary Feedback Tips Sharpening Bulino Videos Forum Policies

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-07-2011, 03:59 PM
Jonessa Jonessa is offline
Steel
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austria
Posts: 78
Default Would this work?

would this compressor work for a palm control classic?

http://www.airpress24.de/product_inf...-HOBBY-X1.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2011, 04:28 PM
mrthe's Avatar
mrthe mrthe is offline
Platinum
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Would this work?

You need a compressor with a 1/3 gallon thank , and which work at 60 psi this compressor don't have a tank, don't waste your money in it
You can use something like this
http://wap.ebay.es/Pages/ViewItem.as...ografo&emvcc=0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2011, 11:41 PM
Jonessa Jonessa is offline
Steel
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austria
Posts: 78
Default Re: Would this work?

1/3 of gallon so like a liter tank?.....http://www.airpress24.de/product_inf...15-EXPORT.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2011, 02:14 AM
mrthe's Avatar
mrthe mrthe is offline
Platinum
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: Would this work?

Yes Jonessa a gallon are aprox. 4 liters , you need a tank of 1,5 liters , i use a little aerograph compressor with a 3 liters tank and work well you can buy one in ebay for less of 120 euro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2011, 02:34 AM
SEngraver SEngraver is offline
Platinum
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK.
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: Would this work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrthe View Post
You need a compressor with a 1/3 gallon thank , and which work at 60 psi this compressor don't have a tank, don't waste your money in it
You can use something like this
http://wap.ebay.es/Pages/ViewItem.as...ografo&emvcc=0

Mrthe,
This link does not work properly as it only shows the side menu,the rest of the page is blank.
SE
__________________
Learn from those who know more than you do and teach those who know less than you do. - I.M.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2011, 05:40 AM
Jonessa Jonessa is offline
Steel
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austria
Posts: 78
Default Re: Would this work?

ok now I am looking on german Ebay... how about this one?

http://cgi.ebay.de/Aero-Vento-6-SILE...item335f8970ee
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2011, 08:39 AM
SEngraver SEngraver is offline
Platinum
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK.
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: Would this work?

Hi,
Looks ok for a classic but I am unable to read the specifications in german
SE

Ps You may not be able to connect you other air tools.......
__________________
Learn from those who know more than you do and teach those who know less than you do. - I.M.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2011, 10:18 AM
Jonessa Jonessa is offline
Steel
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austria
Posts: 78
Default Re: Would this work?

Thanks! here is what I could translate :
-oilfree
-1450 U/min.
-there is a pressure meter from 0-8 bars
-6 liter tank
-pressur up to 8 bars
-can suck 115 liters
-0,7 KW - 1 PS
-230 Volt / 50 Hz
- 15 Kg ~32lbs
-66 decibels
-size-530x210x540

Not going lie I know literally NOTHING about compressors. I will be ordering this one in the next few days once I get a response back from Mr. Lindsay about getting a Classic sent over here.I am sooo excited!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2011, 08:18 PM
Roger Bleile's Avatar
Roger Bleile Roger Bleile is offline
Platinum
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,672
Default Re: Would this work?

Sarah,

I think just about any compressor will run a Lindsay AirGraver because they use so little air and very little is bled off as there is with the GRS tools. The compressor you mentioned has a six liter tank. With that tank filled you should be able to engrave for a few hours without having to turn the compressor back on. If you hook your airgraver to a 20 oz paint ball gun tank you can engrave for 2-4 hours with it depending on your stroke setting. 20 oz is .6 liters.

My compressor has a 15 gallon (57 liter) tank. I turn it on and fill the tank then turn it off so it does not automatically turn itself on. I can engrave for about a week before I turn it back on to refill the tank. By doing this way I don't get startled when the compressor kicks on.

Regards,

Roger
__________________
C. Roger Bleile
Author of: American Engravers series of books. FEGA Historian and Founding Charter Member
http://www.engravingglossary.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-12-2011, 02:40 AM
Gemsetterchris's Avatar
Gemsetterchris Gemsetterchris is offline
Platinum
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nokia,Finland
Posts: 385
Default Re: Would this work?

As said, most likely any compressor will work.
Thing is, oiless is better otherwise you need to have a filter on it, also small tanks need re-filling more often...

So, you either need an expensive silent one or a bigger tank.

Mine is 24ltr, cheap but noisy as hell, but it takes a couple of minutes to fill up (then turn off till empty) & it runs all day or all week depending on use.
Try searching for mecafer which is what i have (maybe your local hardware store has some)? around €100 only.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-12-2011, 05:20 AM
Jonessa Jonessa is offline
Steel
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austria
Posts: 78
Default Re: Would this work?

thank you guys for all the help!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-12-2011, 11:56 AM
Jonessa Jonessa is offline
Steel
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austria
Posts: 78
Default Re: Would this work?

I just ordered my Classic and my compressor I am like a little kid a few days before christmas right now !
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-12-2011, 03:25 PM
SVD's Avatar
SVD SVD is offline
Platinum
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 2,555
Default Re: Would this work?

Roger

Remember that that 20oz paintball tank is (mostly) full of liquid CO2 that exands to a much greater volume of gas.

That said, my setup with a 10 gallon tank daisy chained off of the compressor's 2 gallon tank only comes on about once a day using my Classic with foot pedal.
__________________
Enjoy!

Steve :->
(KCSteve in most forums)
SVD's Photo Album
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-12-2011, 07:13 PM
Deeman Deeman is offline
Copper
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Re: Would this work?

Howdy, I am new here and wish everyone have a great new year.http://www.handengravingforum.com/im...you%5B1%5D.gif
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-17-2011, 02:32 PM
Jonessa Jonessa is offline
Steel
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austria
Posts: 78
Default Re: Would this work?

thanks guys! My compressor came today. it is a bit loud but i emptied out my entire walk in closet, it is now my "compressor room" to try to cut down on the noise a bit. Though thankfully I live above a bar and they dont care if I am making a racket at three in the morning with all of my hammering and compressor noises.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Conduct
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.